GARY, IN, 2-8-2011 – In celebration of the Gary SouthShore RailCats tenth year of professional baseball, the club announced its Tenth Anniversary Team at the third annual Fan Fest this past Saturday at the Radisson Hotel at Merrillville.


The RailCats unveiled Tenth Anniversary Team at the Radisson Hotel during the Closing Ceremony for the third-annual Fan Fest, a one-of-a-kind minor league event celebrating all things RailCats baseball. Voting for the Tenth Anniversary Team was conducted through a poll at, and a winner at each position was chosen based on a composite of voting from RailCats fans, coaches and staff members.


The complete roster for the RailCats Tenth Anniversary Team:

Click HERE for Player Bio’s

C – Jose Yepez (2005, 2007)

1B – Wes Chamberlain (2003)

2B – Francisco Matos (2002)

3B – Tanner Townsend (2005-08, 2010)

SS – Jay Pecci (2005-10)

OF – Jermaine Allensworth (2006-07)

OF – Cristian Guerrero (2008-10)

OF – Anthony Iapoce (2004-05)

UTIL – Eric McNamee (2005-09)

UTIL – Alex Taylor (2005-06)

DH – Steve Haake (2005-09)

RH SP – Willie Glen (2005-07, 2010)

RH SP – Jason Shelley (2006-07)

LH SP – Josh Habel (2006-07)

LH SP – Jeremy Plexico (2008)

RH RP – Andy Shipman (2009-10)

LH RP – Tony Cogan (2007-09)

Since the original announcement at Fan Fest, the RailCats have added another utility slot to the Tenth Anniversary Team for longtime second baseman Eric McNamee. “Eric’s omission from our original Tenth Anniversary Team was an absolute oversight on our part, and I’m pleased to be able to make this correction quickly” RailCats President/General Manager Andy Viano said. “Francisco Matos is without a doubt a great RailCat and deserves to be on the team, but what Eric meant to this franchise on and off the field, his unyielding passion for RailCats baseball and his steadfast commitment our franchise’s ideals make him a no-brainer piece of the club as well.”

The RailCats will begin the 2011 campaign on the road in Grand Prairie against the Air Hogs. The RailCats homer opener will be on Friday, May 20 at 7:10 p.m. against the Fargo-Moorhead RedHawks as all home games in 2011 will begin at 10 minutes past the hour to commemorate the RailCats Tenth Anniversary. Season tickets and mini plans are on sale now by calling the RailCats at 219.822.2255 or visiting

Share This Story!

continue reading

Related Posts